Chief Jacqueline Luthcke

2016 - Present


Chief John M. Ward

2010 - 2016


Hr. Chief Michael Feeney (d)



Chief John LiPuma

2008 - 2010


Chief William Corcoran

2001 - 2008


Chief Louis J. Mader

1992 - 2001


Chief Frank Milliken

1981 - 1992


Chief Robert S. Kay

1977 - 1981


Chief John Orr (d)

1960 - 1977


Chief Peter J. Higgins (d)

1959 - 1960


Stephen G. Janas (d)

1955 - 1959


John S. F. Sommerrock (d)

1943 - 1955


Floyd Tremper (d)

1932 - 1943


Chief Fred Blackshaw (d)

1920 - 1932 

♦ (EOW 3/10/1932) ♦


Chief Robert Groves (d)

1916 - 1920


Chief Peter J. Pullis (d)

1897 - 1916

Captain Anthony Cortazzo

Captain Keith Killion

Captain Thomas Landers

Captain John Aynes

Lt. Thomas Stapleton

Lt. William H. Babcock

Lt. Peter Bouma Jr.

Lt. Willis Dunkel

Lt. Herbert Clarke

Lt. Robert McGill

Lt. William Colligan

Lt. Richard Smith

Lt. Anthony Finamore

Lt. Martin Plump

Lt. Richard Meier

Lt. Robert VanGoor

Lt. Philip Weiler

Lt. Dave McDermott

Sgt. Charles C. Price

Sgt. Albert Hazen

Sgt. George Secor

Sgt. William McCarthy

Sgt. Augustus Hensz

Sgt. Robert Kay

Sgt. Philip Brustlin

Sgt. Harry Shortway Jr.

Sgt. David Kiernan

Sgt. John Bogert

P.O. Robert Donahue Stockbower

P.O. William R. McCullough Jr.

P.O. John B. Catanzano

P.O. Casper P. Offringa

P.O. Garret Nagelhout

P.O. Michael Peranio

P.O. Harvey Guis

P.O. Bert L. Cronk

P.O. Howard K. Howard

P.O. Thomas D. Holley

P.O. Thomas E. Wiseman

P.O. John Nagelhout

P.O. Frank Holley

P.O. Albert DiEgidio

P.O. Edmond J. McAuliffe

P.O. Carl Sisco

P.O. Richard Whitehead

P.O. Gerald Faber

P.O. Louis Lembo

P.O. Nicholas Lembo

P.O. Fred Lascar

P.O. Philip J. Lavorgna

P.O. Paul Neske

P.O. Eugene Ottens

P.O. James Tenney

P.O. Frank Alessi

P.O. Wallace Lindsay

P.O. Anthony Dinice

P.O. Edmond McAuliffe

P.O. Wesley Rigler

P.O. Fredrick Fleming

P.O. David Washburn

P.O. Henry Ward

P.O. Cheryl Ferrarella

P.O. Joseph Perillo

P.O. John Barkenbush

P.O. James Cluney

P.O. Frank Casey

P.O. George Kennedy

P.O. Fredrick Krenrich

P.O. Robert Preston

P.O. Lloyd Pruiksma

P.O. Edward Orr

P.O. Donald LaPorta

P.O. Mark Moore

P.O. Robert Pearston

P.O. Richard Horlbeck

P.O. Jon Epple

P.O. Paul Gillard

P.O. Paul Savaria

P.O. James Rice

P.O. James Youngberg

P.O. Thomas Shortway

P.O. William Foxon

P.O. Peter Tuchol

P.O. Peter Gillen

P.O. Shayne James

P.O. Walter Mark Butler

P.O. Paul Dinice

P.O. Robert Hirsch

Chief Frederick Blackshaw

EOW: March 10, 1932

During Hurricane Floyd in 1998, the Ridgewood Police Headquarters was heavily damaged by flood waters that rose from the Ho-Ho-Kus Brook due to the storm serge.  Not only was there a significant amount of structural damage to our building, but many files, including some of our department's history, were also damaged by the flood waters. Unfortunately this has made it difficult for us to follow this history of our department. 

Not much is known about Chief Frederick Blackshaw's service here at the Ridgewood Police Department.  What is known is that Chief Frederick Blackshaw was one of the founding members of our Department, being sworn in as a Police Officer in 1897.  Chief Blackshaw rose through the ranks and was promoted to Chief in July of 1920.  According to records, Chief Blackshaw passed away, suddenly, on March 10, 1932 while he was the active Chief of Police.

Patrolman Robert Danahue-Stockbower

EOW: November 18, 1943 (WW2)

Ptl. Stockbower became a Ridgewood policeman in July 1940.

He was the first patrolman to enter the police force via a Civil Service examination even though civil service had not yet been established for Village employees. After a one-year probationary period he was accepted as a full-fledged member of the Ridgewood Police Force. At that same time, his father was clerk for the Village police, the police court and the Board of Health.
Stockbower was drafted into the military in September 1941 as a Private in the Signal Corps, rose to Technical Sergeant, was approved as an Air Cadet and earned his wings as a pilot of multiengine bombers at Stockton Field, California July 28, 1943. He then completed the Pilot Transition Four-Engine course at Hobbs Army Air Field in New Mexico.

Ptl. Stockbower was killed when co-piloting a B26 bomber that went down near the base of a mountain in November of 1943.  Ptl. Stockhower was the only Ridgewood Police Officer killed in service during WW2.

Copyright © 2019 Village of Ridgewood Police Department.
All Rights Reserved.
Location: 131 N Maple Ave
Non Emergency Phone: (201) 652-3900

Emergency Dial 9-1-1